Mon. Sep 27th, 2021


Abia Logo

An eight man special task force on illegal oil activities and pipeline protection has been inaugurated with Mr. Victor Nwamkpa as chairman while Mr. Amechi Henson is the secretary.

Others are Mr. Ndubuisi Nworgu, Mr. Okechi Alozie, Ngozi Monday, Akobundu  Godswill and Cyprain Obia.

Inaugurating the members at the conference room of the Secretary to the State Government Mr. Chris Ezem advised the members to be transparent, honest, and discharge their duties with decorum and integrity.

He urged them not to use the opportunity to step on the rights of the communities and enumerated their terms of reference to include protection of oil pipeline within the state, arrest vandals and hand over to law enforcement agents, submit their monthly activity report to the office of the SSG ,and to stop all illegal oil activities in the state.  

The SSG maintained that the taskforce   must avoid any conflict with the activities of existing committees in the ministry of Petroleum and Energy Resources.

Responding on behalf of the members, the chairman Mr. Victor Nwamkpa thanked Governor Okezie Ikpeazu for finding them fit for the assignment and promised that they would not betray the confidence reposed in them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *