Wed. Sep 14th, 2022

NFF Election: Two disqualified, 11 cleared for presidency race

The Nigeria football federation, election committee has disqualified two of the aspirants seeking to contest for the post of President on the next NFF board while clearing eleven other aspirants to contest for the exalted post.

The two disqualified candidates are Marcellinus Anyanwu of Imo State and Paul Yusuf from Plateau State, who were not cleared because of what was termed as invalid nomination by the screening committee.

However, three of the cleared eleven contestants are members of the current board led by Amaju Pinnick including the current NFF first vice president, Sayi Akinwunmi, the second vice president and Chairman of the now defunct-league management company, Shehu Dikko as well as the current chairman of chairmen, Ibrahim Musa Gusau.

Others cleared for the post of President of the NFF are a former International Player, Idah Peterside, CAF’s Head of Safety and Security, Abia State born Christian Emeruwa, and a former chairman of Kano Pillars, Abba Abdullahi Yola.

Also included are Amanze Uchegbulam, David Buhari Doherty, Adam Moukthar Mohammed, Suleiman Kwande and Musa Amadu.

Meanwhile, while the trio of the current Anyimba chairman, Felix Anyansi Agwu, Obinna Ogba and Chinedu Okoye are in a three horse race for the post of first vice President, only Yusuf Ahmed is in the running for the position of chairmen of chairmen.

Similarly, contesting for seats on the Executive Committee for the one slot to represent the Southeast are the current chairman of Abia Warriors, Pastor Emeka Inyama, the State Commissioner for Sports, Karibe Ojigwe among other contestants from other States of the zone.

Correspondent Francis Nwaubani reports that the NFF has fixed the elective congress for the thirtieth of this month in Benin City, Edo State.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.